Homemade Yogurt with cinnamon and nuts

March 25, 2010 § 6 Comments

I am a firm believer in simple things being the most nourishing. And although I am not a massive consumer of yogurt, I do love it homemade. And it’s so simple, and easy!

Homemade Yogurt


Equipment you’ll need:

  • Cooking thermometer
  • Large pot
  • Whisk
  • Container with a lid
  • Dark tea towel

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp biodynamic organic yogurt
  • 1L full cream cows milk
  • 1 tbsp caster sugar
  • seeds from inside one vanilla bean or one teaspoon of vanilla extract

Method:

  1. Pour the milk into the large saucepan along with the sugar and vanilla.
  2. Turn the stove on high, clip or place the thermometer into the saucepan and begin stirring the ingredients til combined.
  3. Keep stirring gently, keeping an eye on the thermometer.
  4. When the temperature reaches 47 degrees C, take the mixture off the stove and pour it into the container.
  5. Mix in the biodynamic yogurt til combined. This biodynamic yogurt is what we call your “starter” and you’ll only need to use it this once. Next time you want to make yogurt just ensure you keep about 2 table spoons of your yogurt back and then add that to the next batch.
  6. Place the lid onto the container and cover it with your dark tea towel.
  7. Leave it sit on the bench or somewhere warm-ish out of drafts for about 6 hours or so so it can culture and thicken.
  8. When time has lapsed, put the yogurt into the fridge and enjoy it!

*If you want a sweeter or purely natural yogurt you can alter how much sugar you add, or none at all. Obviously if you want au naturel yogurt, omit the vanilla too.

One of my favourite ways to serve yogurt is with some LSA sprinkled ontop and a touch of cinnamon. LSA is Linseeds, Sunflower Seeds and Almond Meal and is a great way to get nutrients including fibre, magnesium, omega-3 fatty acids, and Vitamins D, E, B1 , B5 as well as zinc, calcium and other micronutrients.

Enjoy and report back with how you go! I don’t think you’ll ever look back.

Tagged:

§ 6 Responses to Homemade Yogurt with cinnamon and nuts

  • Ana Star says:

    The method mentions milk powder but the ingredients doesn’t, can you clarify please 🙂

  • Ana Star says:

    Thank you. Currently making some now.

  • Ana Star says:

    Hi again,

    Was wondering if you could give some trouble shooting tips. I have made this 4 times now and the only batch that worked was the first. The 2nd time I added fruit, and I have since read this can make it watery. The 3rd time I used raw sugar and it was runny also. The 4th time I did exactly as I did the first time and it was still watery.

    I used the started from the same tub of bio dynamic yoghurt each time. Is that my mistake? Can it only be used as soon as it is opened?
    I understand I can take the starter from the finished yoghurt but my hsband ate all the first one before I had a chance to take any so I used the original starter yoghurt again. My next batches did not work so I was unable to use fresh starter and I continued to use the original stuff thinking it was the fruit that had affected the setting the second time and the raw sugar was at fault the 3rd time. It was only when I made it for the 4th time and did exactly as I had when I first made it that I started to suspect the starter.

    Thanks

    • Hiya
      If the fruit is making it watery then I would suggest adding the fruit on top of the yogurt once the yogurt has set.
      As far as it not setting – is it warm enough? Some days when it is cold and I am making it the yogurt won’t set. So what I do is wrap it in a wool cot blanket and put it on top of the stove so the warmth transfers onto it. Then the bacteria has a good environment for growth and it’s a lot better.
      Let me know how you go.
      x Jess

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Homemade Yogurt with cinnamon and nuts at Cooking is My Therapy...

meta

